11 December 2012

Nigeria: Four States Top UBE Fund Access

Four northern states have provided counterpart funding and have accessed more than 90 percent of their funds at the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC).

UBEC acting Executive Secretary, Professor Charles Onocha, who disclosed this at the 3-day meeting with chairmen of the State Universal Basic Education Boards (SUBEBs) in Asaba, said the states are Kano, Katsina, Bauchi and Jigawa.

Onocha said N38bn was yet to be accessed by states out of the N154.4billion disbursed. Performing states within 75-89% include Adamawa, Edo, Lagos, Rivers, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara, Gombe, Kaduna, Kebbi, Kwara, Ekiti, Kogi, Niger, Delta, Borno, Anambra, Enugu, Ondo, FCT and Benue.

Average performing States (55-75%) are Akwa Ibom, Cross River, Osun, Oyo, Nasarawa, Bayelsa, Abia, Sokoto, Plateau and Ogun.

While the non-performing states (0-54%) are Ebonyi and Imo states.

Copyright © 2012 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.