11 December 2012

Nigeria: NPL Sacks Baribote Again - 2012/2013 Season Begins February

The Nigeria Premier League (NPL), has dissolved its Executive Board, led by Chief Victor Baribote and instructed the NPL Acting Executive Secretary to take charge immediately.

The decision was reached at the 7th Annual Ordinary Congress of the NPL, held in Abuja on Tuesday 11th of December, 2012.

The League's parent body, Nigeria Football Federation directed that the Congress be held on Tuesday (today) even as the NPL Executive Board met on Monday evening (Yesterday) and resolved not to hold the event.

"Congress invoked Article 22(n) and unanimously resolved that the Board, which is an organ of the NPL as constituted be dissolved immediately, and mandated the Ag. Executive Secretary to take over the affairs of the League pending further consultation", the communique issued after the meeting stated.

The Congress frowned at the management style of the Baribote-led Board and expressed total disappointment in the inability of the Board to positively react to the series of allegations of "managerial recklessness, executive rascality, high handedness, disrespect for Clubs, refusal to call for a Congress, failure to secure a title sponsor for the League, and gross incompetence levelled against it."

The NPL Congress set aside Articles 15, 24, 25 and 26 of the Nigeria Premier League Statutes - procedures for convening a Congress - to legitimise the deliberations of the 7th Congress.

League season begins February

The Congress resolved that the 2012/2013 League season shall commence on the 16th February, 2013 subject to confirmation by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

"The draws and pre-season activities for the 2012/2013 season shall hold in Kano at a date to be announced."

The Congress also formally admitted the four (4) newly promoted clubs, relegated four (4) clubs and expressed optimism for a hitch free 2012/2013 season.

In attendance were:

- 19 Premier League Clubs that took part in the 2011/2012 League

- 3 Executive Board members of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) as Congress Observers, they are; Alh. Shehu Adamu, Chief Emeka Inyama and Hon. Suleiman Yahaya Kwande

- 3 newly promoted clubs as observers, they are; El-Kanemi Warriors FC, Nasarawa Utd FC and Bayelsa Utd FC

- The Ag. Executive Secretary (NPL) and Secretariat staff

Copyright © 2012 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.