14 December 2012

South Africa: SAAF to Hold Memorial Service for Its Fallen Members

Pretoria — The South African Air Force (SAAF) will today hold another memorial service in Pretoria for those members who died in a plane crash last week.

Eleven members of the SAAF died when the plane crashed in the Drakensberg mountains enroute to the Eastern Cape.

On board the aircraft was a crew of six and five passengers. It was confirmed that there were no survivors.

The crew members on board the aircraft were Major K. Misrole, Captain Z.M. Smith, Sergeant B.K. Baloyi, Sergeant E. Boes, Sergeant J.M Mamabolo and Corporal L. Mofokeng.

The passengers who were on board the aircraft were Sergeant L. Sobantu, Corporal N.W. Khomo, Corporal A. Matlaila, Corporal M.J. Mthombeni and Lance Corporal N.K. Aphane.

According to the SAAF, the aircraft was flying from Air Force Base Waterkloof in Pretoria at about 7.45am to Mthatha Airport on an official task and went missing around 9.45am.

A board of inquiry has been convened to investigate the circumstances surrounding the cause of the accident.

Copyright © 2012 SAnews.gov.za. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.