17 December 2012

Kenya: Kipkorir, Chemjor Rule Kisumu Race

DANIEL Kipkorir and Magdalene Chemjor are the new Safaricom Kisumu City Marathon champions. Kipkorir and Chemjor braced Kisumu's hot weather to emerge victorious in the closely contested 16th edition of the event yesterday morning.

Kipkorir, 24, clocked 2:14:26 while Chemjor, the 2007 Amsterdam and Kass Marathon champion, returned 2:31:72.

The new champions vowed to defend their titles in next year's event.

Kipkorir, a father of one, who trains at Kimumu in Eldoret, came 20th in last year's edition. Yesterday, he was full of praise for the new course, which took athletes through Kisumu's streets and Milimani area.

"I have been training for this race and I'm happy I won. It was very tough and the weather made it worse but I'm happy I won," he said.

He added: "God willing, I will try other major marathons both in the county and outside next year." Chemjor similar echoed his sentiments, saying the weather was unfavourable. "I'm very experienced in marathons but this weather was harsh. However, I'm glad I emerged winner," she added.

Kipkorir narrowly beat William Yegon, 29, of Kapsabet to second position in 2:14:48 while Joseph Amenya came third in 2:15:53. Yegon was making his debut in the race.

Barnabas Bor was fourth in 2:16:21 while Alfred Kipsang settled for sixth position in 2:17:17. In the women's category, Chemjor relegated Caroline Chepkoech to second position in a time of 2:31:44 while third place went to Rebecca Sang in 2:33:40.

The main marathon was preceded by a 5km race for local athletes. Roselyn Atieno won the women's category in 17:17.31 and was followed by Veronica Atieno in 19:44.01.

In the men's category, Benson Onyango emerged victorious in a time of 15:19:50 and was trailed by David Opondo in 20:34.01.

For the second year in a row, top athletes in the marathon underwent doping tests. The race was flagged off by the patron David Okeyo and Safaricom's sponsorship manager Wangui Kibe. Athletics Kenya (AK) public relations officer, Peter Angwenyi, was also present.


Men's 42km race

1.Danien Kipkoris 2:14.26

2. William Yegon 2:14:48

3. Joseph Amenya 2:15:53

4. Barnabas Bor 2:16:41

5. Alfred Kipsang 2:17:17

6. Benjamin Koech 2:17:30

7. Ezekiel Kiprop 2:17:31

8. Michael Losorun 2:17:48

9. Weldon Kirui 2:18:47

10. Julius Choge 2:18:49

Copyright © 2012 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.