19 December 2012

Egypt: Nation Declares Saturday 'Day Off' for Referendum

Saturday, December 22, has been declared an official holiday for government employees to enable them to vote in the second round of the referendum on the country's new constitution.

The second round includes 17 provinces: Giza, Matrouh, New Valley, Red Sea, Luxor, Qena, Minya, Beni Suef, Fayoum, Kafr al-Sheikh, Baheira, Damietta, Menofeya, Qalyubia, Port Said, Suez and Ismaliya.

Copyright © 2012 Aswat Masriya. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.