24 December 2012

Rwanda: Hoops Teams for Regional Tourney Named

Rwanda basketball federation has named men and women national squads which will represent Rwanda at next year's Fiba Zone V Championship which will be held in Dar es salaam, Tanzania.

Head coach Moise Mutokambali, assisted by Espoir's coach Jean Bahufite who both took over men's team left by Serbian Nenad Amanovic, summoned a 26-man team including six professional players, namely; Dan Rugamba (Seattle Community College, USA), Hamza Ruhezamihigo (Concordia, Canada), Gasana Kenneth Herbert (Ass Charab Al Hoaciema, Morocco), Isom Cedric (Primiero do Agosto, Angola), Brannon Darrius (Corr. Victoria, Mexico) and Bradley Cameron Curtis (Mississipi Gulf Coast College, USA).

The women's side head coach Mbazumutima Charles, assisted by Charles Mushumba Charles, named a 24-man team with four professional players namely; Mahoro Laetitia, Williams Angelica Monique (USA), Henderson Tiena Monay, (Angola) and Mugeni Sabine, (France).

The rest of the players in both teams have been drawn from local clubs, namely; APR, CSK, Espoir, KCB, UNR, St. Aloys Rwamagana, Ubumwe, St. Joseph Kabgayi and Karubanda respectively. Both teams are set to start Amahoro indoor stadium on boxing day.

The event, earlier scheduled from December 15 to 22, was rescheduled to next year by the world governing body, FIBA. However, Tanzania basketball federation is set to announce the exact date for the competition.

Tanzania Basketball Federation (TBF), Assistant Secretary General, Michael Maluwe, said recently that "the event will be either held early or late January but we will make the date public in advance".

He said despite the re-schedule they are proceeding with preparation of the event, with 12 countries having confirmed participation.

The participating countries which confirmed for the event include Burundi, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda, South Sudan and hosts Tanzania.

Provisional Squads:

Men: Barame Aboubakar (CSK), Manzi Nestor (APR), Kubwimana Ali (KBC), Uwizeyimana Placide (Espoir), Karekezi Pascal (Espoir), Mugabe Arstide (Espoir), Kamuntu Placide(CSK), Hakizimana Lionel (APR), Uwimana Sankara (KCB), Rafiki Mohamed (APR), Habineza Jean Louis (Espoir), Munyandamutsa N. Sunny (APR), Ruzima Guillaume (CSK), Murihira Teotime (APR), Muhizi Olivier (Espoir), Wazayire Christophe (Espoir), Muhire Fiston (KCB), Kabange Kami (Espoir), Shyaka Olivier (KCB), Kaje Elie (Espoir), Rugamba Dan (Seattle Community College), Hamza Ruhezamihigo (Concordia), Gasana Kenneth Herbert (Ass Charab Al Hoaciema), Isom Cedric (Primiero do Agosto), Brannon Darrius (Corr. Victoria) and Bradley Cameron Curtis (Mississipi Gulf Coast College).

Women: Kabarere Jovithe (APR), Yamfashije Jeanne (UNR), Micomyiza Rosine (St Aloys Rwamagana), Mukandayisenga Scolastique (Ubumwe), Kanyamibwa Claire (CSK), Nzaramba Cecile (St Joseph Kabgayi), Uwizera Vanessa (APR), Kamana Aisha (APR), Imanishimwe Genevieve (St Joseph Kabgayi), Umutoni Gisele (St Joseph Kabgayi), Munyaneza Joselyne (APR), Urwibutso Nicole (Karubanda), Kamanyana Ange (Ubumwe), Ikirezi Yvone (Ubumwe), Umugwaneza Charlotte (APR), Niyonsaba Delice (St joseph Kabgayi), Nyirahumure Immaculee (UNR), Uwase Denyse (APR), Muhongerwa Alice (Ubumwe), Ushizimpundu Clementine (Ubumwe), Mahoro Laetitia, Williams Angelica Monique (USA), Henderson Tiena Monay, (Angola) and Mugeni Sabine (France).

Copyright © 2012 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.