25 December 2012

Tanzania: Election Appeal Committee Chairman Appointed

THE Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) has appointed Idd Mtinginjola as chairman of the body's newly established Election Appeal Committee.

TFF Information Officer, Boniface Wambura said Mtinginjola, an independent lawyer, will be heading the five-man Elections Appeal Committee for TFF and members' elections. Mtinginjola was member of the TFF Disciplinary Committee, which is led by retired Dar es Salaam Police Special Zone Commander Alfred Tibaigana.

Francis Kabwe, High Court Deputy Registrar, will be vice-chairman of the committee. Other members of the committee are the Traffic Police Chief, SACP Mohamed Mpinga, Madundo Mtambo and Murtaza Mangungu. The committee was formulated on Sunday by TFF Executive Committee in line with the local football governing body's constitution amendments and will be the ultimate organ mandated with resolving election disputes.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) recently ordered TFF to form the Elections Appeals Committee and do away with the current system, in which the federation's Appeals Committee was transformed into the Elections Appeals Committee during the federation's election process.

CAF recently instructed all of its members to incorporate the act in their respective constitutions. The continental football governing body also directed the members to incorporate the Club Licensing Act in the federation's constitution, among other issues.

In other CAF recommendations, the body wanted TFF to scrape the Second Vice-President's post and see to it that clubs' representatives in the federation's Executive Committee are directly elected by the clubs. TFF survived a rare scare on conceding defeat in its constitution amendment voting as the majority of Congress delegates voted in favour of the proposals.

There was tension among football stakeholders as some TFF member associations led by Kagera Regional Football Association (KRFA) voiced against the amendments and strongly campaigned for shooting them down but TFF under Tenga finally emerged victorious.

However, matters were not all smooth as the 'Yes' vote was just two per cent (68) above the required absolute majority mark of 66 per cent (2/3) as the TFF constitutions stipulates.

Copyright © 2012 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.