27 December 2012

South Africa: McCarthy and Mathoho Withdrawn From Bafana Bafana

Bafana Bafana have started their training camp at Orlando Stadium in Soweto which runs from Thursday, 27 December until Saturday, 29 December 2012.

The squad consists of 31 players - the 24 that was selected for the international friendly match against Malawi last weekend (Saturday, 22 December) in Durban and an additional seven more.

Head coach Gordon Igesund will announce the final 23-man squad on Sunday, 30 December.

Almost all players reported for national duty with the exception of striker Benni McCarthy and defender Eric Mathoho who have been withdrawn from the camp due to injuries. McCarthy is suffering from a troublesome hamstring while Mathoho has a knee injury.

"It is a blow when any player called up for the national team pulls out due to injury. It would have been a great situation to have both of them here," said Igesund.

Ayanda Patosi and Andile Jali were given a break as a precautionary measure. Both have niggling ankle injuries but are expected to join their compatriots at training on Friday, 28 December.

Due to club commitments, England-based Kagisho Dikgacoi and Dean Furman, as well as Darren Keet who plays in Belgium will not be part of the training camp.

"I already have 19 players in my mind but I still have some decisions to make for the rest, so there are still some places up for grabs.

"These are exciting but also testing times for me and the players because at the end of the day only 23 players can make the squad. We saw in the match against Malawi that all players want to be part of this fiesta. But it does not mean if players are excluded from the AFCON squad it is the end of the road, we still have plenty of tournaments to come," added Igesund.

"What I am happy about is the great vibe in the squad and you can see all the players are eager to do their best which makes life harder for me and my technical team."




1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

2. Wayne SANDILANDS Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

3. Senzo MEYIWA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


4. Bevan FRANSMAN Supersport United FC (SA)

5. Thabo NTHETHE Bloemfontein Celtic (SA)

6. Siyabonga SANGWENI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

7. Siyanda XULU FC Rostov (Russia)

8. Siboniso GAXA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

9. Tshepo MASILELA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

10. Thabo MATLABA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


11. Oupa MANYISA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

12. Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

13. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

14. Sifiso MYENI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

15. Thanduyise KHUBONI Lamontville Golden Arrows FC (SA)

16. May MAHLANGU Helsingborg IF (Sweden)

17. Delron BUCKLEY Maritzburg United FC (SA)

18. Lerato CHABANGU Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

19. Thuso PHALA Platinum Stars FC (SA)

20. Ayanda PATOSI Lokeren FC (Belgium)

21. Daine KLATE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


22. Bernard PARKER Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

23. Lehlohonolo MAJORO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

24. Tokelo RANTIE Malmo FF (Sweden)




Racing Genk FC (Belgium)


Andile JALI

Orlando Pirates FC (SA)



Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)



Paok FC (Greece)


Ricardo NUNES

MSK Zilina FC (Slovakia)


Thulani SERERO

Ajax Amsterdam FC (Holland)


Katlego MPHELA

Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.