27 December 2012

Cameroon: Joel Babanda - 2012 Best Male Footballer/Goal Scorer

Once again, the rendez-vous was respected for the consecration of football actors and stakeholders after the official end of the 2012 football season in Cameroon. Holding under the banner of the Live CamerFoot Awards, a total of 12 honourary distinctions were handed to meritorious individuals and groups, for their indispensable roles on the football scene. The event which regrouped both former and active footballers in the Bonapriso neighbourhood in Douala on Wednesday December 26 marked it second edition.

One after the other, the winners or their representatives mounted the rostrum to receive their prizes. Presented by Martin Camus, the gifts were both in cash and kind, with sums ranging from FCFA 150.000 to 500.000. Union Football Club of Douala, holder of the 2012 Championship title grasped most of the awards, in various categories. The team's attacker, Joel Babanda carried the day with two awards namely: the Livecamerfoot Golden Ball, made up of a trophy and FCFA 500.000 and that of the highest goal scorer with 14 goals to his credit. Meanwhile, the Best Fan Club award was granted to Panthere Football Club of Bangante; Franck Happi of Union Douala was crowned Best Team President, with Best Football School awarded to "Foundation Tafi". The sole female distinction was received by Iven Mihamle, an attacker of Louves (MINPROFF) as the Best Female Footballer; the Best Referee prize was grasped by Alioum Siddi; with the Best Goal-Keeper being Youthe Rostand of Union, Douala. Other categories included the Best Cameroonian Footballer in the Diaspora awarded to Henri Bedimo Nsame, a defender with Monpelier (France); the Best Coach title went to Bonaventure Djonkep still of Union, Douala and the Revelation of the year granted to Bassilikin of Rennaissance Football Club of Ngoumou.

The High mark of the evening was the posthumous award of the "Lion Forever" title to one time indomitable Lion and captain, Theophile Abega, of blessed memory alongside a minute of silence. A cross section of the executive bureau and members of the National Footballers Syndicate, former and present players answered present, while looking for the 2013 edition that celebrates them.

Copyright © 2012 Cameroon Tribune. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.