28 December 2012

Nigeria: NFF Charges Premier League Committee to End Crisis

Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has charged the Premier League Management Committee to strive to "quickly and conclusively" resolve all lingering issues in the League before the commencement of the 2012/2013 League season.

NFF President, Alhaji Aminu Maigari gave the charge on Thursday in Abuja while inaugurating the 2012/2013 Premier League Management Committee.

He said: "For avoidance of doubt, this is a national assignment of no mean significance. The management of the top tier of the domestic League of any country has serious consequences for that nation's football. None of the National Teams can be said to have been composed without players from the domestic League, and even those who play overseas start from the home front."

Maigari commended the members for accepting to serve the nation.

"Certainly, each member of the 2012/2013 Premier League Management Committee has been carefully chosen, based on quality of experience, broad-mindedness, capacity, proven ability, painstaking virtues, love of the game and diligence and dedication.

"Importantly, let me add that whatever issues have to sorted out must be done in line with rules and regulations, equity and good conscience. The nation is bigger than any single individual or corporate body, and it is the interest of the nation that we are talking about here."

In his response, Chairman of the Committee, Hon. Nduka Irabor said it was an honour to be called to serve the nation, and pledged that the members would do their utmost best to redress all issues hindering the development of the Premier League.

Terms of Reference

The Committee are to organise the 2012/2013 League, review all contractual obligations of the NPL, including TV and Sponsorship rights and develop strategy and facilitate the reform of the League towards achieving profitability.

Other responsibilities are to; review existing rules and guidelines for the election into NPL Board, develop new standards for players' contracts and welfare and any other relevant matter(s) the Committee may deem necessary.


1. Hon. Nduka Irabor - Chairman

2. Hon. Sabo Babayaro - Vice Chairman

3. Mallam Salisu Abubakar - Member

4. Mrs Modele Sarafa-Yusuf - Member

5. Mr. Mike Enahoro - Member

6. Mr. Kunle Elebute - Member

7. Mr. Shehu Dikko - Member

8. Amb. Nwankwo Kanu - Member

9. Barr. Ifeanyi Dike - Member

10. Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi - Member

11. Hon. Abubakar Nuhu Dan Buran - Member 12. Mr. Mike Idoko - Member 13. Mr. Tunji Babalola - Secretary

Copyright © 2012 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.