29 December 2012

South Africa: Bafana Bafana Complete Training Camp

Photo: CAF
South African players.

Bafana Bafana wrapped up the three-day training camp at Orlando Stadium where head coach Gordon Igesund had a last look at players before naming his final 23-man squad tomorrow.

The announcement will be made at the Southern Sun Monet Casino Hotel in Fourways, Johannesburg at 15h00.

A total of 33 players took part in the training camp but will be trimmed to 23 for the Africa Cup of Nations South Africa 2013 tournament.

"I am excited that everything went well, the players raised their hands to say they want to be included in the final squad. You could tell almost all of them don't want to be left out. This was a very important camp where we had the cream of the crop and I saw what I wanted to see. Now the wait for the players begins while for me it's crunch time. The challenge is who to leave out," said Igesund.

England-based Kagisho Dikgacoi and Dean Furman, as well as Belgium-based Darren Keet were not part of the training camp due to club commitments, while Benni McCarthy, Eric Mathoho and Ayanda Patosi will not be considered due to injuries.


1. Itumeleng KHUNE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

2. Wayne SANDILANDS Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

3. Senzo MEYIWA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

4. Bevan FRANSMAN Supersport United FC (SA)

5. Thabo NTHETHE Bloemfontein Celtic (SA)

6. Siyabonga SANGWENI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

7. Siyanda XULU FC Rostov (Russia)

8. Siboniso GAXA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

9. Tshepo MASILELA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

10. Thabo MATLABA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

11. Oupa MANYISA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

12. Reneilwe LETSHOLONYANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

13. Siphiwe TSHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

14. Sifiso MYENI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

15. Thanduyise KHUBONI Lamontville Golden Arrows FC (SA)

16. May MAHLANGU Helsingborg IF (Sweden)

17. Delron BUCKLEY Maritzburg United FC (SA)

18. Lerato CHABANGU Moroka Swallows FC (SA)

19. Thuso PHALA Platinum Stars FC (SA)

20. Daine KLATE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

21. Bernard PARKER Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

22. Lehlohonolo MAJORO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

23. Tokelo RANTIE Malmo FF (Sweden)

24. Anele NGCONGCA Racing Genk FC (Belgium)

25. Andile JALI Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

26. Teko MODISE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

27. Bongani KHUMALO Paok FC (Greece)

28. Ricardo NUNES MSK Zilina FC (Slovakia)

29. Thulani SERERO Ajax Amsterdam FC (Holland)

30. Katlego MPHELA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

31. Dean FURMAN Oldham Athletic FC (Eng)

32. Kagisho DIKGACOI Crystal Palace FC (Eng)

33. Darren KEET Kortrijk FC (Belgium)

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.