31 December 2012

Angola: António Esperança Leads Angolans At Saint Sylvester Race History

Luanda — Runner António Esperança with four wins remains the best Angolan athletes ever on the list of participations in the Luanda's Saint Sylvester yearend race that is heading for its 57th edition on Monday, 31 December 2012.

The long distance racer won consecutively the editions of 1957, 1958, 1959 and 1960, in a contest that is of late dominated by Ethiopians with more than 10 trophies.

Isidro Louro is the second best Angola with three second place trophies in the editions of (1954, 1955 and 1956), while Joaquim Morais (1962 and 1963) and João Ntyamba (1990 and 2000) follow on the list of champions.

The list of Angolans excelling in the Luanda's Saint Sylvester yearend races history includes Upanga Holua (1974), Aurélio Mitty (1996) and José Ndala (2003).

As to women, Angola registered its name in the year 2003, through Ana Isabel, with the contest being heavily dominated by Ethiopians, Portuguese and Kenyans.

Click here for the table of Angolans in Saint Sylvester yearend race history:

Copyright © 2012 Angola Press Agency. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.