31 December 2012

Morocco: Nation Expands Urban Renewal Project

Morocco added thirteen new cities to its anti-slum initiative, Housing Minister Nabil Benabdallah told MAP on Sunday (December 30th).

Tanger, Tétouan, Settat, Kalaa des Sraghna, Ksar Lekbir, Sidi Kacem, Sidi Slimane, Es-smara, Deroua, Ben Yakhlef, Sidi Bennour, Souk Sebt and Touissit are the latest cities that will be rid of shantytowns by 2020, as part of the national urban renewal project.

The number of "Cities Without Slums" is expected to reach 62 in 2013, Benabdallah said.

Copyright © 2012 Magharebia. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.