3 January 2013

Nigeria: Winner of Vanguard Online Readers Man of the Year Award Is...

Imo state indigenes both in the country and in diaspora may not hesitate to claim Owelle Rochas Okorocha is the best thing to have happened to the state. He took over government house in May 2011 after a mighty battle in court with Ohakim, won the U.S Congressional Certificate of Recognition for declaring free education to state primary and secondary school students and now, he has ranked first in Vanguard online Readers' Man of the Year poll.

Note, however, that this does not make Governor Okorocha the Vanguard Man of the Year.The poll only allows readers to weigh in on the people and perhaps things that have influenced news, for better or worse, in 2012.

According to results of the poll, Governor Rochas Okorocha was joined in top ten position by President Goodluck Jonathan, renowned author Chinua Achebe, Securities and Exchange Commission boss Arunma Otteh, popular Vanguard On-line commentator Tobby 777, Nuhu Ribadu and the Islamist group Boko Haram.

A total of 135 comments had followed up on the request for nominations, out of which 53 were actual nominations.

Author Chinua Achebe made it to the top in 2nd position but had actually gotten a lot of "no way" votes for his controversial book There was a Country , while personalities like Pastor Tunde Bakare, Alhaji Aliko Dangote and late Odumegwu Ojukwu elicited quite a banter each time they were nominated but it wasn't strong enough to take them to the top of the rankings.

This is the final result of the polls


Governor Rochas Okorocha - 9

Chinua Achebe - 7

President Goodluck Jonathan - 5

Madam Arunmah Otteh - 4

Tobby 777 - 4

Boko Haram - 3

Nuhu Ribadu - 3

Alhaji Aliko Dangote - 2

Pastor Tunde Bakare - 2

Late Odumegwu Ojukwu - 2

Biafran Advocates - 1

Nigerian Senators - 1

Vanguard online commentators- 1

Senator Ndume - 1

Chike Afana -1

Governor Uduaghan - 1

Late bomb squad officer Sunday Badang - 1

Governor Fashola - 1

Late Sanni Abacha - 1

Coach Stephen Keshi - 1

Oba of Benin - 1

Wale Adenuga - 1

Alhaji Atahiru Jega - 1

Sanusi Lamido - 1

The ordinary Nigerian - 1

Copyright © 2013 Vanguard. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.