7 January 2013

Ghana: Adjaho Sworn in As Speaker, Sixth Parliament Commences

Photo: Flickr
Ghana prepares for the inauguration of the President John Dramani Mahama.

Mr Edward Doe Adjaho has been sworn in as the Speaker of the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic by the Chief Justice, Georgina Theodora Wood.

He was sworn in after he was elected by a unanimous decision after being proposed by the majority leader, Dr Benjamin Kumbuor and seconded by the Minority leader, Osei Kyie Mensah-Bonsu.

Mr Adjaho took the Oath of Allegiance and the Speakers Oath, affirming to bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic and people of Ghana as established by Law.

Until his elevation, he was the MP-elect for the Akatsi South Constituency in the Volta region. He has since in accordance with Article 97 of the Constitution vacated that seat.

Mr Adjaho makes history as the first legislative member to be elected Speaker in recent times and prior to his new position, he was the immediate past first Deputy Speaker in the Fifth Parliament.

Mr Adjaho in his acceptance pledged to deepen the democratic principles of the country, live up to the reputation of past speakers and "look forward to serve the House with dignity".

He thanked the leadership of the House for the great honour done him, his family and constituents, undertaking not to betray the confidence and trust reposed in him but to discharge his duties in accordance to the Constitution and parliamentary rules.

Mr Adjaho exhorted members of the Sixth parliament to stay focused on the business of the House and do so with "unity and discipline.

He charged them to renew their sense of patriotism, nationalism and devotion in the discharge of their responsibilities in order to deepen parliamentary democracy saying "We should strive to uphold the sanctity of parliament".

Mr Ebo Barton-Odro, MP for Cape Coast North, was elected Fisrt Deputy Speaker while the Esikadu/Ketan MP, Joe Ghartey was elected Second Deputy Speaker.

The 274 members-elect were subsequently sworn in as substantive MPs of their constituencies by taking the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of Member of Parliament.

Speaker Adjaho suspended sittings for members to attend the swearing-in and investiture of the President-elect John Dramani Mahama at the independence Square.

Copyright © 2013 African Elections Project. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.