7 January 2013

Ghana: Mahama to Be Sworn in Today Amid Controversy

Photo: South African Government
Ghanaians came from all walks of life to witness the presidential inauguration.

After a hard fought election, albeit the controversy that surrounded it, President John Dramani Mahama is expected to be sworn in this morning, as the fourth President under the Fourth Republican constitution.

President Mahama, who has risen through the ranks -first as Deputy minister for Communication and later the substantive minister, a member of the ECOWAS Parliament, Minority Spokesman on Foreign Affairs, Vice President and now the Head of State, was declared winner of the 2012 elections by the Electoral Commission.

The New Patriotic Party has, however, filed a writ at the Supreme Court, challenging the results. The party has also decided to boycott this morning's swearing in ceremony at the Independence Square in Accra, together with its MPs.

Former President Kufuor has, however, declared his intention to attend the ceremony, in his capacity as a former Head of State, a position which has attracted harsh criticisms from the youth of the party.

But the criticism has not made the former President to change his decision, insisting that he is now a statesman and cannot therefore turn down an invitation from people who once elected him as president.

Meanwhile, the Ghana News Agency reports that thirteen Heads of State, mostly from West Africa, have confirmed to honour the coronation of President- elect, John Dramani Mahama, on Monday January 7.

They are: African Union Chairman and President of Benin, Mr. Yayi Boni, President Blaise Compaore, Burkina Faso, President Goodluck Jonathan, Nigeria, President Jacob Zuma, South Africa, and President Jakaya Kikwete of Tanzania.

The rest are President Alassane Ouattara, La Cote d'Ivoire, President Macky Sall, Senegal, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberia, President Teodora Nbiang Nguema Mbasogo, Equatorial Guinea, President Mahamadou Issoufou, Niger, President Michael Sata , Zambia, President Faure Essozimna Gnassingbe, Togo and President Mohamed Abdelaziz, of Sahrawi Republic.

According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration, most of the Presidents would arrive in Ghana on Monday morning. The Ministry, however, noted that President Mohamed Abdelaziz and President Macky Sall will arrive on Sunday, January 6.

Copyright © 2013 Ghanaian Chronicle. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.