8 January 2013

Uganda: Kiprotich Favourite to Land USPA Award

Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) Nile Special Annual Sports Awards nights usually climax with that tense moment when guests cannot await announcement of the winner.

But not this time round when the sports scribe hold the ceremony at Imperal Royale Hotel on January 19.

The magnitude of success 2012 London Olympic marathon gold medalist Stephen Kiprotich achieved thrashes any kind of competition.

WBC-International heavyweight champion Joseph Lubega and National Rally Champion Jas Mangat made the shortlist for the sportsman of the year but pose not the slightest threat to Kiprotich.

"The nature of our system is that the runners-up and second runners-up have to be recognized as well," USPA president Mark Namanya responded to members' demands that Kiprotich who won Uganda's only Olympic gold in 40 years should be unanimously voted.

With the country's biggest sports achiever in 40 years set to be crowned, Namanya promised a glitz dinner this year.

"We are organizing a more glamourous dinner. It's not only going to be better than the one we had last year but galas held before. We want to have the best possible awards night this year," Namanya stated amidst applauds.

The team of the year award presents the biggest contest amongst Rugby Cranes, Rwenzori Warriors, Motocross team and Express.

Cranes won the Elgon Cup for the first time in six years, Warriors won the East Africa Premier Cricket League, the Motocross team claimed Uganda's first Africa championship and Express F.C won the 2011/2012 league.

Both the sportsman and team of the year were voted for yesterday and will be announced at the awards gala on January 19.

Meanwhile, CECAFA champions Cranes won the December award having beaten the U-19 women cricket team that won the Africa championship. Sportsmen and women who excelled in the various sports disciplines were voted as well.

The annual award gala is exclusively sponsored by Nile Special.


Male: Stephen kiprotich

Female: Sarah Nambawa


Male: Daniel Mihigo

Female: Shamim Bangi

Table tennis

Male: Kevin Mafabi

Female: Ludiya Natunga

Weight lighting

Male: Jamil Lubega

Boxer: Joseph Lubega


Ibrahim Sekagya

Rally crew of the year

Jas Mangat/ Gihan De Silva


Female: Flavia Namakula

Male: Phillip Kasozi


Male: Benjamin Musoke

Female: Mary Nalule


Female: Carol Kanzira

Male: Alfred Gumikiriza

Tennis: David Oringa


Male: Eddie Ssempijja

Female: Hawa Nassimbwa


Male: Collins Ssemanda

Female: Lillian Zawedde


Male: Brian Odong

Female: Brenda Kayiyi


Male: Norman Blick

Female: Flavia Oketcho


Fortune Sentamu


Male: Harold Wanyama

Female: Phionah Mutesi


Male: George Aporu

Female: Jessica Kaidu


Peace Proscovia

Cycling: Leon Twaha


Male: Ronald Kalete

Female: Dina Amoding


Ronald Mugula


Patrick Ssemakula


Tendo Mukalazi


Michael Kawooya


Male: Thomas Opio

Female: Aisha Kagere


Ibrahim Kong

Copyright © 2013 New Vision. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.