15 January 2013

Africa: Here Are the Nicknames of the Qualified Teams!

In Africa, every football team has a nickname. This is a landmark. These nicknames can both give a positive image and values in a team, and are often designed to enhance national pride.

The 16 teams in the Afcon 2013:

South Africa: "Bafana Bafana" (The boys)

Algeria: "The Fennec of Hoggar"

Angola: "Palancas Negras" (Black Antelopes)

Burkina Faso: "The Stallions"

Cape Verde: "Os Tubaroes Azuis (Blue Sharks)

DR Congo: "Leopards"

Côte d'Ivoire: "The Elephants"

Ethiopia: "Walya Antelopes" (Antelopes Walya)

Ghana: "The Black Stars" (The Black Stars)

Mali: "The Eagles"

Morocco: "The Atlas Lions"

Niger: "The Menas"

Nigeria: "The Super Eagles"

Togo: "The Hawks"

Tunisia: "The Eagles of Carthage"

Zambia: "Chipolopolo" (The Copper Bullets)

Copyright © 2013 Africa Top Sports. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.