18 January 2013

South Sudan Started the Withdrawal of Its Troops for the Establishment of a Demilitarized Border Zone Between South Sudan and Sudan

press release

In compliance with African Union Peace and Security Council Communique's (24 April and 24 October 2012), United Nations Security Council Resolution 2046 (2 May 2012) and the Agreement on Security Arrangement between the Republic of Sudan and the Republic of South Sudan (27 September 2012), and in line with the implementation plan approved by the two Joint Political and Security Mechanism (JPSM) co-chairs (19 December 2012), the Government of South Sudan has completed the withdrawal of all its troops south of the centre line on the administrative and security map presented to the Parties by the AUHIP in November 2011 for the establishment of the Safe Demilitarized Border Zone (SDBZ). This withdrawal was completed within the timeframe (D-day (19 Dec 2012) + 28 days) that has been agreed by the Parties. This is the first step in the separation of forces and the full operationalization of the SDBZ (10km withdrawal from the centreline).

At the current meeting of the JPSM, convened by the AUHIP from 14-15 January 2013 in Addis Ababa, the Government of South Sudan has also fully accepted the full demilitarization of the "14 mile area" - the land of the Malual Dinka as per the 1924 Wheatley-Munro Agreement. This will be completed by D-day + 47 days.

The Acting Chief Negotiator, Minister John Luk Jok noted: "By withdrawing its forces south of the centreline of the temporary administrative and security map of the AUHIP and agreeing to the full demilitarization of the SDBZ and the 14 miles area, the Government of South Sudan is clearly demonstrating its full compliance with the signed security agreements and full commitment to their implementation. Indeed, RSS is fully committed to the unconditional and timely implementation of all agreements it has signed with the Government of Sudan. The GoRSS expects the Government of Sudan to similarly implement fully and unconditionally the security agreements and all other agreements embodied in the Cooperation Agreement of 27 September 2012. These agreements lay the foundations for mutual viability of both our nations and enduring peace between our peoples."

The South Sudan Minister of Defence, John Kong Nyuon remarked: "In addition to the withdrawal of RSS troops south of the centreline we have also started the redeployment of our forces from the Safe Demilitarized Border Zone (10km withdrawal from the centreline), which will be completed by the deadline of 4 February 2013."


South Sudan started the withdrawal of its troops for the establishment of a demilitarized border zone between South Sudan and Sudan

Copyright © 2013 Sudan Tribune. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.