21 January 2013

Nigeria: Merger Talks - ACN Names Crack Team

The Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) has appointed a 19-member committee with the mandate to negotiate its planned merger with the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

In a statement issued in Lagos yesterday by its National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, the party said the committee, to be chaired by Chief Tom Ikimi, has as members Aremo Olusegun Osoba, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, governors Babatunde Fashola and Rauf Aregbesola, Sen. John Akpanudoedehe, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyawu, Sen. George Akume and Hon.Abike Dabiri-Erewa.

Other members are Sen. Lawal Shuaibu, Chief Audu Ogbe, Chief Achike Udenwa, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Sen. Chris Ngige, Dr. Usman Bugaje, Hajiya Rabiat Eshak, Dr. Ibrahim Y. Lame, Alhaji Yusuf Ali and Alhaji Lai Mohammed.

LEADERSHIP had exclusively reported the plan by ACN to release the names on the committee with most members featuring as predicted in the report.

The ACN said the appointment of the committee is an indication of its total commitment to making the merger a reality, adding that there is no going back in the party's determination to work with the CPC and the ANPP to rescue and salvage Nigeria.

It also congratulated the leadership of the CPC and the ANPP, which have already named their own merger committees, on their patriotism, and appealed to all Nigerians to support the planned merger: "This is not about the ACN, CPC or ANPP but about our country Nigeria, which is tottering on the edge of disaster due mainly to the lack of leadership and failure of governance by the ruling PDP since 1999. The merger of the three parties is like a 'Noah's Ark' which all Nigerians who are tired of the endless drift of our country must enter into.

"This is not about winning power at the centre at all costs, as the naysayers will want Nigerians to believe. It is about putting the interest of Nigeria and Nigerians above everything else.

"We will also like to inform Nigerians that contrary to what the doubters and spoilers are saying, the three parties are going into the merger plans unconditionally and without a set mind over posts or anything else. The only issue that has been settled is the urgent need to rescue and salvage our country. In this regard, the opposition knows it has a date with history!"


Alhaji Garba Gadi - Chairman


Prof. Tam David-West


Governor Tanko Al-Makura


Alhaji Sabo Nanono


Senator Hadi Sirika


Chief Okoi Obono Obla


Owelle Oscar Udoji


Engr. Ife Oyedele


Osita Okechukwu


Chief Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba


Mrs. Lucy Ajayi


Air. Commodore Bernard Banfa (rtd)


Engr. B.D. Lawal


Dr. Haruna Yerima


Mr. James Ocholi (SAN)


Alhaji Adebayo Shittu


Prof. Buba Bajoga


Dr. Osagie Ehanire

ANPP Merger Team


Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau


Chief George Moghalu


Senator Sani Yerima


Hon. Suleiman Kawu

Copyright © 2013 Leadership. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.