21 January 2013

Tanzania: Advanced Players Cricket League 2013 Attract 12 Pros

AT least 12 professional cricket players from South Africa, Kenya, India and UK will join four local teams for this year's Advanced Players League (APL), which will kick off at the Leaders Club ground in Dar es Salaam on Thursday.

The tournament is organized by the Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA), with a view to improving the performance of local players by providing regular 50 overs and Twenty/20 competitive opportunities to players who are keen to play competitive games.

Event coordinator Kazim Nasser said in a statement yesterday that a total of 44 local club players will get opportunity to rub shoulders and test their skills with the professionals coming from different parts of the world.

Nasser named South African players to join the local sides as Wayne Kylander , Brian Tyrone Isitt and, Willem Mostert, while Kenyan players are Maurice Ouma , Alex Obanda and, Nehemiah Odhiambo.

He named Indian players as Shrideep Mangela, Jaideep Pardesi and Raunaq Sharma, while those coming from UK will be Richard Wilkinson, Timothy organ and Christopher Watling.

Nasser said four Franchise teams will participate in the league, naming them as Castle lager Rockets (Tanzania Breweries Ltd.) Dikdiks (Dar International Cricketers), Gyproc Strikers (Gyproc - Saint Gobain) and Maxx Changers (Maxx Bureau De Change).

"The curtain raiser game of the event will pit Gyproc Strikers and Maxx Changers to take place at Leaders Club ground on Thursday," said Nasser.

He further noted that this year's event will help to sharpen the national team players in their preparation for the ICC Africa Division One tournament to be held in Kampala, Uganda from February 22, this year.

He said the final match will be played at the same venue on January 27 and that on January 29, there will be two T20 games between the APL professionals and TCA combine team. The coordinator said fixtures of the event will be released soon.

The APL 2013 will be the fifth edition of the event. The inaugural event took place in 2009.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.