21 January 2013

Nigeria: Jonathan Appoints Boards for Teaching Hospitals, NAFDAC

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the constitution of the boards of the Federal Government University Teaching Hospitals and the National Agency for Food Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC).

A statement signed by the Secretary to Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim on Saturday, said the new board of ABTU Zaria includes Alhaji Shuaibu Oyedokun as chairman. The members are Dr. (Mrs.) Mary Paninga, Hon. Makanjuola Ogundipe, Dr. Princewill Chike, Dr. Ishiaka Salman, and Dr. Mairo Mandara; while the Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano (AKTH) has Dr. Samaila Saidu Sambawa as its chairman and Col. David Imauze, Dr. Dennis Ekumaninkama, Ali Tukur Gantsa, Dr. Shah Azuh Okorie, and Mr. Adindu Alex Eze as members.

University Teaching Hospital, Maiduguri, is chaired by Willy Inoma Ogbeide; Usman Dan Fodio University Teaching Hospital, Sokoto chaired by Hon Simon Yunusa Dogari; the Nnamdi Azikiwe Teaching Hospital, Nnewi is chaired by Prof Ivara Esu while University Teaching Hospital, Ilorin is chaired Mrs olajumoke Anifowoshe.

The University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital has Dr Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosumu as chairman; the University Teaching Hospital, Benin has Major General A.B. Mamman as Chairman while Dr Udeogu Chudi Job is the Chairman of the Board of the University Teaching Hospital, Enugu, amongst others

A new board for NAFDAC has Prof. John Ibru as the chairman while members include Pharm. Paul Enebeli, Tukur Sarki Fada, Dr. Mrs. Bolanle Njoku, The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health and the Director General/Chief Executive of the National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development.

Other members include the Director General of the Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), The Chairman of the Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA), representative of the Pharmaceutical Group of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria, the Chairman of the Pharmacist Board of Nigeria, representative of the Food Beverages Group of the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria, and the Director General of NAFDAC.

Copyright © 2013 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.