22 January 2013

Tanzania: 48 Cleared for TFF Leadership Race

AT least 48 candidates have managed to beat the first hurdle, after they were cleared to contest for various Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) posts in the February 24 general election.

TFF Information Officer, Boniface Wambura, said that the Election Committee scrutinised each candidate's nomination forms and have endorsed 48 aspirants, whose names were posted at the federation's headquarters in Dar es Salaam, in accordance with Section 11 (1), (2) and (3) of the elections regulations.

He said the names have been posted for information of all concerned and for filing of objections, if any. He said written objection(s) should be submitted to the TFF General Secretary from today up to Saturday at 4pm.

Wambura insisted that no objection(s) beyond the mentioned period will be accepted He said only two candidates out of 50 who had submitted their nomination forms to contest for various posts at the eagerly awaited election have been axed from the race. They are Richard Rukambura and Titus Osoro.

Wambura said that Rukambura's name was omitted from the race because he violated Section 10 (8) of the election regulations, which prohibits candidates from seeking more than one post at the election.

Rukambura was eying for the federation's president post and the executive committee slot, while Osoro has withdrawn his name from the race. He was eyeing for the executive membership post.

Candidates who have been endorsed to contest for president post are Jamal Malinzi, Athumani Nyamlani and Omari Nkwarulo. Those seeking to be elected as vice-president and have their names endorsed are Michael Wambura, Ramadhan Nassib and Wallace Karia.

As for executive committee members those cleared and their respective zones in brackets are Abdallah Musa, Kalilo Samson and Salum Hamis Umande (Kagera, Geita), Jumbe Magati, Mugisha Galibona, Samuel Nyalla and Vedastus Lufano (Mara and Mwanza).

Others are Epaphra Swai and Mbasha Matutu (Shinyanga and Simiyu), Charles Mugondo, Elly Mbise as well as Omari Walii (Arusha and Manyara), Ahmed Mgoyi and Yusuph Kitumbo (Kigoma and Tabora), Ayubu Nyaulingo, Blassy Kiondo, Nazarius Kilungeja and Selemani Kameya (Katavi, Rukwa) while James Mhagama and Stanley Lugenge (Njombe, Ruvuma).

The list also has Athuman Kambi, Francis Ndulane and Zafarani Damoder for Lindi and Mtwara zone, Hussein Mwamba and Stewart Masima (Dodoma, Singida), Farid Nahdi, Hassan Othman Hassanoo, Riziki Majara and Twahili Njoki (Morogoro and Coast), David Lugenge, Eliud Mvella, John.

Kiteve and Lusekelo Elias Mwanjala (Iringa, Mbeya), Davis Mosha, Khalid Mohamed and Kusianga Kiata Khalid Mohamed (Kilimanjaro and Tanga) and Alex Kamuzelya, Juma Pinto, Muhsin Balhabou, Omary Abdulkadir, Shafii Dauda (Dar es Salaam).

The Tanzania Premier League Board (TPL Board) has enrolled two candidates for the Chairmanship post --Yanga's Yusuf Manji and Kagera Sugar boss Hamad Yahya and they have all been cleared to stand. Azam's Said Mohamed who is contesting for Vice-Chairman of the TBL Board has also been endorsed, while the members to the board (Management Committee) have also been cleared. They are Moro United's Christopher Peter, Pamba's Kazimoto Miraji Muzo and Omari Khatibu Mwindadi.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.