22 January 2013

Kenya: No Offices for Governors Yet

Most counties do not have headquarters. However proposals for the county headquarters have been forwarded to the government and the Transition Authority.

There have been disputes is some of the counties concerning the areas where the headquarters will be located but most have been transferred to the authority.

"The Transition Authority is handling the necessary details and will communicate to the public," said Local Government PS Karega Mutahi when contacted.

Eldoret leaders have proposed either the Municipal Council offices formally used by the Mayor or the Uasin Gishu County Council offices.

Leaders in Elgeyo Marakwet County differed over two locations but agreed on the County Council offices in Iten town. The Nandi County Council offices in Kapsabet will be the county's new headquarters.

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.