25 January 2013

Tanzania: TASWA to Grill TFF Top Leadership Aspirants

THE Tanzania Sports Writers Association (TASWA) has organised a debate for aspirants of top positions in the Tanzania Football Federation (TFF) on February 24 general election.

TASWA Secretary General, Amir Mhando said that the debate would be aired live by local televisions on February 15. He said a panel of sports writers would ask the contestants challenging questions. He said the decision to host the debate was reached by the TASWA Executive Committee meeting that met in Dar es Salaam on Wednesday.

He said the occasion would be attended by those contesting the federation's presidential and vice-presidential seats. The presidential position has attracted incumbent First Vice-President Athumani Nyamlani, Jamal Malinzi and Omari Nkwarulo, while those aspiring for the vice-presidency are Michael Wambura, Ramadhan Nassib and Wallace Karia.

"TASWA Secretariat is currently holding talks with different TV stations in the country regarding the live telecast of the event, where the aspirants are expected to use the opportunity to tell the public what they plan to do if they win the election," he said.

This will not be the first time for TASWA to host the debate. The association had organized a similar event in 2001 and 2004, though it was not staged live. In 2008, TASWA again organized the debate and it was live footage at the ITV. Apart from the top two slots in the eagerly awaited elections, aspirants will also be fighting for various other posts in the federation.

Those who want to run for TFF Executive Committee membership and their respective zones in brackets are Abdallah Musa, Kalilo Samson and Salum Hamis Umande (Kagera, Geita), Jumbe Magati, Mugisha Galibona, Samuel Nyalla and Vedastus Lufano (Mara and Mwanza).

Others are Epaphra Swai and Mbasha Matutu (Shinyanga and Simiyu), Charles Mugondo, Elly Mbise as well as Omari Walii (Arusha and Manyara), Ahmed Mgoyi and Yusuph Kitumbo (Kigoma and Tabora), Ayubu Nyaulingo, Blassy Kiondo, Nazarius Kilungeja and Selemani Kameya (Katavi, Rukwa) - James Mhagama and Stanley Lugenge (Njombe, Ruvuma).

The list also has Athuman Kambi, Francis Ndulane and Zafarani Damoder for Lindi and Mtwara zone, Hussein Mwamba and Stewart Masima (Dodoma, Singida), Farid Nahdi, Hassan Othman Hassanoo, Riziki Majara and Twahili Njoki (Morogoro and Coast), David Lugenge, Eliud Mvella, John.

Kiteve and Lusekelo Elias Mwanjala (Iringa, Mbeya), Davis Mosha, Khalid Mohamed and Kusianga Kiata Khalid Mohamed (Kilimanjaro and Tanga) and Alex Kamuzelya, Juma Pinto, Muhsin Balhabou, Omary Abdulkadir, Shafii Dauda (Dar es Salaam).

The Tanzania Premier League Board (TPL Board) has enrolled two candidates for the Chairmanship post - Yanga's Yusuf Manji and Kagera Sugar boss Hamad Yahya and they have all been cleared to stand.

Azam's Said Mohamed who is contesting for Vice-Chairman of the TBL Board has also been endorsed, while the members to the board (Management Committee) got cleared. They are Moro United's Christopher Peter, Pamba's Kazimoto Miraji Muzo and Omari Khatibu Mwindadi.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.