26 January 2013

Tanzania: Gyproc Strikers Dominate At APL Cricket

GYPROC Strikers maintained their winning streak at the ongoing Advanced Players League (APL), which kicked off at the Leaders Club ground in Dar es Salaam on Thursday.

The victors recorded a 9 wickets victory over Dikdiks in their second match at the same venue yesterday afternoon. In their 1st innings Dikdiks posted 147 all out in 19.4 overs. Khalil Rehemtulla hit 60 runs not out off 33 balls. Other notable contribution came from Dale J who was caught by Sha B.

He managed 18 runs off 13 balls. In reply, Gyproc Strikers scored 148 for no loss of wicket in 12 overs. Issa Kikasi and Indian professional Mangela Shrideep scored half a century each. Mangela S scored 71 runs off 39 balls. Kikasi managed 59 runs not out off 34 balls.

The match was preceded by a game that pitted Dikdiks and Castle Lager Rockets at the same venue in the morning in which Dikdiks won by six wickets. Castle Lager Rockets went to bat first and in their first innings, they scored 189/5 in allotted 20 overs.

Seif Khalifa scored 58 runs off 49 balls before he was caught by Kenyan Olouch N. South African Brian Tyrone Isitt scored 60 runs off 33 balls and was sent to the pavilion by a catch from South African Van Vuuren D. In reply Dikdiks posted 190/4 in 17.5 overs.

Kamande J hit 67 runs not out, Smit L was caught by Benson Mwita with a score of 50 runs off 56 balls. In the opening day on Thursday Gyproc Strikers won by 6 wickets against Maxx Changers. Maxx Changers won the toss and went to bat first in which they scored 147 runs for 9 wickets in allotted 20 overs. Opening batsman, Abhki Patwa collected 43 runs after facing 33 balls.

In replay, Gyproc Strikers posted 149 for 4 in 16.4 overs. Indian professional Mangela Shrideep scored 37 runs off 22 balls before he was caught by Hamis Abdallah. V Patel managed 22 (not out) and Sharma R posted 38 not out.

The tournament is organized by the Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA), with a view to improving the performance of local players by providing regular 50 overs and Twenty/20 competitive opportunities to players who are keen to play competitive games. At least 12 professional cricket players from South Africa, Kenya, India and UK will join four local teams for this year's event. The APL 2013 will be the fifth edition of the event. The inaugural event took place in 2009.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.