1 January 2013

ECOWAS Defence Chiefs Agree Modalities On Rapid Deployment of Additional Forces

press release

Abidjan - Cote d'Ivoire — The ECOWAS Committee of Chiefs of Defence Staff (CDDS) ended its one-day emergency meeting on 26th January 2013 in Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire agreeing on the acceleration of the deployment of additional forces of the African-led Support Mission to Mali (AFISMA).

Further contributions from Member States that have been validated for AFISMA forces now stand at 5,700. The meeting, among others, also agreed on the establishment of an emergency budget for the AFISMA Headquarters and the acceleration of United Nations support for the forces.

In addition, the Defence Chiefs validated the establishment of a seven-nation sub-committee to accelerate decision-making on "simple issues" and oversee the validation and arbitration processes of the force generation in connection with AFISMA Headquarters, as well as report on the build-up of AFISMA forces to ECOWAS political authorities.

Cote d'Ivoire, as Chair of the CCDS, will head the sub-committee which other members include the Emergency Troop-contributing Countries (Burkina Faso, Niger, Nigeria and Togo), Senegal - as the country with "a strong contribution" and Mali, as the country serving as the theatre of operations.

According to the report of the CDDS, the term of office of the sub-committee ends with the conclusion of AFISMA's forces generation process. In attendance at the meeting were the Special Representative of the President of the ECOWAS Commission in Mali, the AFISMA Force Commander, the Chief of Staff and Police Commissioner of AFISMA.

Others included the Chiefs of Police and Gendarmerie Services from Benin, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo who participated as representatives of police contributing countries. The Minister reporting to the President of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire in charge of Defense, Mr. Paul Koffi Koffi, addressed the meeting, which was chaired by Cote d'Ivoire's Chief of Defence Staff, General Soumaila Bakayoko.

Copyright © 2013 Economic Community of West African States. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 140 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.