29 January 2013

Tanzania: Taswa Draws Roadmap for Sports Personality Award

THE Tanzania Sports Writers' Association (TASWA) has appointed an 11-man committee that will be responsible for selection of sport personality of the year 2012.

TASWA's Secretary General Amir Mhando, said the committee will be headed by one of the association's members, Haji Manara.

He said Manara and other appointees were named when the body's executive committee met in Dar es Salaam last week.

Out of the 11 selected members, four have been appointed from TASWA's leadership corridor. They are Grace Hoka, Zena Chande, Alfred Lucas and Amir Mhando. Other appointed members Jane John, Dina Ismail, Jabir Idrissa, Tulo Chambo and Abdallah Mweri.

They will be joined by one official from the National Sports Council (NSC). Simba and national team star Shomary Kapombe was declared the Tanzania Sports Personality of the year Award winner during the previous edition.

The versatile youngster was the outstanding performer of 2011 and also won the best upcoming player of the year award, walking home with a cool 13m/- in total from event sponsors Serengeti Breweries Limited (SBL).

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.