30 January 2013

Tanzania: Local Cricketer Shines Alongside Pros

NATIONAL cricket team batsman and wicket keeper Issa Kikasi emerged the best batsman of the 2013 Advanced Players League (APL), which climaxed at the Leaders Club, Kinondoni in Dar es Salaam over the weekend.

Kikasi scored a total of 180 runs in the event which saw at least 12 professional cricket players from South Africa, Kenya, India and UK joining the local teams to spice up the event. Indian professional Raunaq Sharma and Shrideep Mangela also enjoyed a successful tournament.

Sharma who claimed a total of 11 wickets in the event was named the tournament's best bowler, while Mangela emerged as the player of the series. He posted 130 runs and took 3 wickets. The tournament saw Gyproc Strikers beating Maxx Changers by 26 runs to win the trophy.

Gyproc Strikers went to bat first and in their 1st innings they scored 214 runs for 7 wickets in 20 overs. Raunaq Sharma scored 60 runs off 25 balls, Issa Kikasi 57 (31 balls), Jaideep Pardesi 56 (26 balls). Khalil Rehemtulla took two wickets and gave out 27 runs and 2 wide balls, Hamisi Abdallah claimed 2 wickets (31 runs) gave out two wide balls.

In reply, Maxx Changers failed to chase the score, ending their chase with 188 runs all out in 20 overs. Richard Wilkinson hit 44 runs off 17 balls before he was caught by Jaideep Pardesi. Other contributions came from Riziki Kiseto with 36 runs off 23 runs.

Opening batsman Abhik Patwa also had a decent contribution of 33 runs off 16 balls and was sent to the pavilion by Kishen Kamania's catch. Raunaq Sharma claimed 3 wickets while Vaibhav Patel took 2 wickets. Prior to the finals match, Maxx Changers had beaten Dikdiks by 5 wickets.

Dikdiks went to bat first and in their 1st innings they managed a score of 184/6 for 20 overs. Nicholas Olouch was run out but managed an impressive score of 45 runs off 28 balls. Harrison Ambani scored 38 runs off 23 balls. Jimmy Kamande managed 32 runs off 19 balls, while Ally Rehemtulla and Zamoyoni Ramadhani both posted 20 runs.

Hamisi Abhallah claimed 3 wickets. In replay, Maxx Changers posted 186/5 in 18 overs. Richard Wilkinson scored 69 runs not out while Christophe managed a total score of 39 runs off 23 balls. Paul Nilsen took two wickets.

The tournament is organised by the Tanzania Cricket Association (TCA), with a view to improving the performance of local players by providing regular 50 overs and Twenty/20 competitive opportunities to players who are keen to play competitive games.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.