30 January 2013

Tanzania: Dar Open Snooker Tourney Enter Quarterfinals Stage

FOUR players have advanced into the quarterfinals of Cargostars Dar Open Snooker tournament after winning their third round matches at the Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club on Monday evening.

Suril Shah, Aliakbar Hakimjee, Khuzema Murtaza and Raju Kanabar all sailed through to the quarter-final after winning their respective third round matches. The hosts and defending champion Kanabar ensured that he kept live his desire to reach the final for the fourth consecutive-year after he ousted Annadil Burhani's Murtaza Alibhai by straight-forward 2-0 victory in a thrilling best of three frames game.

The thrilling third round match saw both Kanabar and Alibhai exchanging some intriguing moments but Kanabar proved that experience count. The champion will meet Munish Khattar or Abraham Sykes who were on the course on Tuesday night for a place in Thursday's quarterfinals.

In another Monday's game Khuzema Murtaza had to call his experience from store to ensure that he remained in contention after he recorded 2-1 victory over Mustafa Adamjee in the all-Annadil Burhani tie that lasted for three hours to set the tournament's longest match played so far.

Khuzema who dismissed hosts Kishore Ramanuj by 2-1 at the last round now need to be at his best to beat his clubmate Aliakbar Hakimjee in the quarter-final clash. However, the match will at least ensure a seminal slot for Annadil Burhani in a tournament that is dominated by hosts. He displayed an impressive performance to win the first frame in style, after leading by 41-37 in early stage.

In the second frame Khuzema showed an excellent move against Adamji in the early stage and lead by 20-1, but he lost steam to give his opponent chance to come back and win it. He also made several mistakes in the decider but was lucky in the end to record 2-1 victory in the marathon game.

The youngster Aliakbar Hakimjee went through after seeing off host Arun Pattan by straight forward 2-0 victory. Earlier on, host Suril Shah was the first player to book a place into the quarter-final, after dismissing Nikhil Sangani by straight forward 2-0 victory.

Suril will wait the winner of the match pitting top contender and 2009 champion Arjun Lavingia or in-form Ali Gulamali, who were due to meet on Tuesday night in their third round tie. According to the draw, other third round matches today will pit veteran Ashok Lavingia, against Upanga Club captain Nitin Somani, while Akil Akberali will face in-form Siten Borkhataria.

Copyright © 2013 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.