31 January 2013

Zimbabwe: 21st Feb Celebrations Brought Forward

Dates for the 21st February Movement celebrations have been brought forward from March 2 to February 23, Zanu-PF Secretary for Youths Affairs Cde Absalom Sikhosana said yesterday.

Cde Sikhosana told a Press conference that the changes followed consultations with the patron of the movement, President Mugabe.

"We had previously given March 2 as the day this year's 21st February Movement celebrations would be held," he said.

"We want to inform the nation that that has now changed following guidance we received from our principal and patron, President Mugabe, that we should have them on the 23rd of February."

Cde Sikhosana said the venue and theme remain the same.

This year's celebrations would be held in Bindura at Chipadze Stadium under the theme "Youth for Indigenisation, Empowerment, Development and Employment Creation".

"Those assigned to various tasks to organise and fundraise for the event are already seized with their mandates," he said.

"The aim of this event is to mould a genuine Zimbabwe character among youths, as espoused by our patron of the movement President Mugabe.

"We want to create characters that preserve the values that were bequeathed to us by out forefathers."

Cde Sikhosana urged youths to be wary of Western influences coming under the guise of democracy and human rights yet they are interested in exploiting the country's resources.

Meanwhile, Zanu PF's director of youth affairs Cde Tapiwa Zengeya urged the business community to be on the lookout for unscrupulous people going around claiming to represent the party and fleece unsuspecting businesses.

"We have decided to publish names of people mandated to fundraise on behalf of the party after realising that there are some people could fundraise without the mandate of the party.

"The mandated people will have identity cards and anyone who does not have an ID should not be given any donation," he said.

Cde Johnson Masawi would chair the 21st February Movement national fundraising committee.

Other members of the committee include Cde Peter Murwira (Mashonaland East), Cde Tafadzwa Musarara (Mashonaland Central), Silas Manzunzu (Manicaland), Cde Elphas Mashaba (Bulawayo), Professor Jonathan Moyo (Matebeleland North), Cde Madodana Sibanda (Matabeleland South), and Cde Dexter Nduna (Mashonaland West).

The other members are Cde Josphat Sarukore (Masvingo), Cde Noah Mangondo, Cde Doyce Nyimbo, Cde Charles Chaponda, Cde Batsirai Goche, Cde Felix Mhona, Cde Kuda Kanengoni, Cde Kuda Mupamhanga, Cde Bright Matonga and Cde Elisha Yobe.

Those responsible for the fundraising dinner are Cde Pamela Chitupa, Cde Mollyne Mkombwe and Cde Takemore Mafuta while the secretariat will be comprised of Cde Cde Justin Chusaru Jeriphanos Jaya and Cde Farai Zimbeva.

Copyright © 2013 The Herald. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.