7 February 2013

Nigeria: NSE Increases Council Membership to 13

The Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) has increased its Council membership to 13, following the co-opting of four eminent Nigerians.

The four new members include: Group Managing Director, Access Bank Plc, Mr. Aigboje Aig-Imoukhuede; Managing Director, Shell NigeriaClosed Pension Fund Administrator Limited, Mrs. Yemisi Ayeni; Partner, Dikko and Mahmoud, Mr. Abubakar Mahmoud; and Partner, Chris Ogunbanjo & Co., Barristers and Solicitors, Mr. Abimbola Ogunbanjo.

Aig-Imoukhuede is the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Access Bank Plc. His visionary leadership has inspired Access Bank's rapid and unprecedented growth over the years, which has seen the Bank rank amongst the top four banks in Nigeria. He is also the Chairman of the Group's UK Banking Subsidiary Access Bank UK Limited.

Under his leadership, Access Bank has become a globally recognised institution, receiving awards both locally and internationally for its contribution towards the growth of the Nigerian banking industry.

Prior to becoming the MD of Access Bank, Aig-Imoukhuede was an Executive Director at Guaranty Trust Bank Plc. He is the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Nigeria's Financial Market Dealers Association and also a foundation Board member of the African Finance Corporation. He is a member of the National Economic Management Team and currently serves as the Chairman of the Bankers' committee Sub-committee on Economic Development and Sustainability.

Ayeni is the Managing Director, Shell NigeriaClosed Pension Fund Administrator Limited. She is an honors graduate of Accounting and Business Finance from the prestigious University of Manchester, UK and is a Chartered Accountant - a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. She joined Shell Nigeria in 1994 and has held a variety of roles in various Shell companies over the years.

In November 2004, Ayeni was appointed Finance Director, SNEPCo, earning her the distinction of being the first Nigerian woman ever to be appointed to the Board of a Shell Company in Nigeria. She is the Vice Chair of the Pension Fund Operators' Association of Nigeria and the current Chair of the Board of LEAP Africa.

Copyright © 2013 This Day. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.