9 February 2013

Kenya: Swearing in to Be Held in Kasarani

The inauguration of Kenya's fourth president will be held at the Moi Kasarani stadium and not the Nyayo stadium as earlier planned, the head of public service and chair of the government committee on the assumption of Office of the President Francis Kimemia said yesterday.

He said that the Kasarani stadium could accommodate more people--a maximum of 60,000-- than the Nyayo stadium which can only sit between 30,000 and 35,000 people.

"We also think Kasarani is more suitable even on issues of security," he said adding that the recent refurbishment of the stadium meant it would not cost as much as Nyayo stadium to spruce it up.

The 2002 inauguration of President Kibaki was a chaotic event held at Uhuru Park attended by thousands of people. The event presented a security nightmare for those detailed to provide security for the scores of VIPs presented.

At one stage during the event, hordes of people surged towards the motorcade of then outgoing President Moi even as they booed and chanted songs ridiculing his regime.

Kibaki's inauguration for the second term was a hurried affair conducted at State House late in the afternoon and with only a few invited guests present.

The then outgoing president Moi's presidential elections, Mwai Kibaki was sworn it at Uhuru Park in a ceremony attended by thousands of Kenyans and hordes of invited dignitaries. But after the controversial December 2007 victory, Kibaki was hurriedly sworn it at State House with only a few of invited guests.

Yesterday, Kimemia, who was accompanied by among others Inspector General of police David Kimaiyo, said the inauguration ceremony will be held within the capital city as provided by the law.

Article 141 (1) of the constitution states that the inauguration and swearing in of a president elect should be held in public before the Chief Justice or in his absence, before the Deputy Chief Justice.

Kimemia said those aggrieved with the choice of the venue can raise their objection through a memorandum to his committee. According to the schedule prepared by the committee and released last week, the inauguration ceremony will be held on March 26 if there is no re-run. In case there is a petition and it is dismissed, the swearing in will take place on April 16.

In case of a run-off for the presidency, the new president will be sworn in on April 30, and June 18 if there is a repeat of the election. Kimemia said the committee will seek the views of the various presidential candidates regarding the program of that day.

He said the candidates have also been asked to think about the guests they want invited in case they are declared the winner. At the same time, the Judiciary has announced the appointment of 47 judges who will swear in governors across the country.

Judiciary chief registrar Gladys Shollei announced that Chief Justice Willy Mutunga has also appointed 47 deputy registrars who will assist the judges in swearing in of the governors. Shollei said those appointed have already been notified.

The Transitional Authority said it has identified premises where governors will operate from in each of the 47 counties. He said venues where county assemblies will operate from have also been identified.

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.