10 February 2013

Rwanda: Costa Sprints to Sprint Rally Win

Olivier Costa won the Sprint Rally, the first round of the national championship on Saturday at Nduba in Gasabo District.

Costa beat off stiff challenge from Burundian pair of Valery Bukera and Abbas Mohammed to win the 84km rally in fifty one minutes and twenty three seconds.

Bukera came second in two minutes and twenty seconds while Mohammed was third after clocking one hour, fourteen minutes and thirty two seconds. Serge Rusagara finished fourth in two hours, twenty nine minutes and thirty one seconds.

Defending champion Davite Giancarlo failed to retain the title as his Subaru omelette went off the road after just 8km.

Claude Kwizera, Janvier Mutuga, Genese, Gracien Rutabingwa and Nadine Umuhire all suffered mechanical problems and did not finish.

The Rwanda Automobile Club boss Christian Gakwaya told Times Sport that even though some cars were not well prepared for the race, the overall organisation of Sprint Rally was spot-on, and to him, it marks good start to the national championship calendar.

Copyright © 2013 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.