11 February 2013

Namibia: Freyer Is Undisputed Mountain Bike King

Windhoek — One of Namibia's most promising mountain bikers, Martin Freyer, annihilated his opponents to win the Nedbank Mountain Bike Challenge in Windhoek on Saturday.

The highly rated youngster scooped the men's 60-kilometre race in an impressive time of 02:44:08 seconds.

In a gruelling race which got underway at the Windhoek Gymnasium Private School on the outskirts of the city and wound its way via the rocky Auas mountains, the 17-year-old cyclist completed the 60km race in a good time, clearly signalling to his competitors that his riding prowess should be taken seriously.

Freyer was followed closely by Tristen Damian in a time of 02:45:55 seconds, with Heinrich Kohne trailing in 3rd place - clocking 02:47.39 seconds, while veteran cyclist Jacques Celliers had to be satisfied with a consolation 4th place on the podium after crossing the finishing line in a time of 02:57.41 seconds.

In the women's division, Irene Steyn gave a good account of herself to win the race in a time of 03:30.01 seconds, with old campiagner Zoe Mitchell adrift in 2nd place with a comedable time of 03:41:55 seconds, leaving Elnor Grassow to pick up the pieces in 3rd place in a time of 03:52.26 seconds and Bertha Theron's time of 03:59.02 seconds earning her 4th place.

In the men's 30km race, Peter van der Merwe proved to be the deserving winner in this particualr category after clocking 01:34.08 seconds. He was followed by Clinton Hilfiker in 2nd place (01:34.08) with Danie Blignaut and (01:35.36) and Wynandt Gouws (01:44.29) trailing in that sequence.

Genevieve Weber won the woman's division clocking 01:45.31 seconds, trailed by Wanda Tattersall (01:47:46), Anja Schroder (02:04:16) and Antje Tietz (02:07:41) - in that order.

Hugo Nell won the men's shorter 15km race with a time of 47:45 seconds with Christo Le Roux scooping the runer-up spot in a time of 47:49 seconds, while Kean de Jager finished in 3rd place after clocking 49:54 seconds. Max Schaefer came in at 51:31 seconds to claim 4th place.

Patricia Hoeksema was victorious in the women's section in a time of 52:38 seconds, folowed by Svetlana Bauer (53.54 seconds), Nicola Theron (54:20 seconds) and Dawn Redelinghuys completing the top-4 line-up in a time of 54.43 seconds.

Copyright © 2013 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.