12 February 2013

Namibia: Delimitation Commission Starts Consultations

Windhoek — The fourth Delimitation Commission appointed by President Hifikepunye Pohamba will start with its first consultative public meeting as of tomorrow, in the Kavango Region and ending in the Oshikoto Region on April 23, 2013.

The Delimitation Commission is an independent and impartial institution constituted for the purpose of recommending changes to regional boundaries, creating new regions, or dividing regions into constituencies if needed.

It is supposed to consider factors such as the number of eligible voters in a region, geographical features, infrastructure, resources and means of communication; its socio-economic characteristics and circumstances; the boundaries of districts and the areas of local authorities and settlement areas.

The commission will visit all thirteen regions and interested parties are allowed to make oral or written presentations, which may be handed or e-mailed to the commission. The chairperson of the commission, High Court Judge Alfred Siboleka, says an error was made on the letters sent to political parties with regard to where all correspondence should be sent.

Instead of addressing letters to the Permanent Secretary, all correspondence should be addressed to the Chairperson of the Delimitation Commission. Siboleka said there is no prescribed format required for addressing submissions to the commission.

"All that I need to record is that normally when you ask for something, it becomes your duty to see to it that you are properly understood," Siboleka, flanked by the other two members of the commission Dr Zedekia Ngavirue and Dr John Steytler, explained last week Friday.

He said people's submissions need to convey their messages with sufficient clarity in order to remove all misunderstanding regarding what they want. "Therefore your written submissions must particularize what you want, how you want it and the reason why. This will enable the Head of State to understand and to know exactly what you want," he told a media briefing.

The public, traditional authorities, registered political parties, councillors and all registered persons can attend the meetings. Meetings will start at 08h00 until 13h00 and again from 14h00 to 17h00 in the afternoon.

Copyright © 2013 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.