14 February 2013

Ghana: Parliament Gives Approval of Five Nominees

Parliament has given approval of five nominees shortlisted for ministerial appointment by President John Dramani Mahama.

The House in an overwhelming majority voice votes yesterday approved the five nominees after their successful encounter with the Appointments Committee chaired by the First Deputy Speaker, Ebo Barton-Odro.

The ministers include; Hon. Dr. Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor, Minister in Charge of Government Business in Parliament; Hon. Haruna Iddrisu, Minister for Trade and Industry; and Mrs. Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong, Minister for Justice and Attorney-General.

The rest are Hon. Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, Minister for Energy and Petroleum and Dzifa Aku Attivor, Minister for Transport. The Minority, as earlier indicated, abstained from the voice vote.

In another development, the House as mandated by law has approved the composition of Standing, Ad Hoc and Select Committees to help manage its affairs.

The Standing Committees are made of thirteen committees namely; Standing Orders Committee; Business Committee; Committee of Privileges; Public Accounts Committee; Subsidiary Legislation Committee; House Committee; and the Finance Committee.

The rest are; Appointments Committee; Committee on Members Holding Office of Profit; Committee on Government Assurances; Committee on Gender and Children; Special Budget Committee; and the Committee on the Judiciary.

The Select Committees are also made of up; Committee on Food, Agriculture and Cocoa Affairs; Committee on Lands and Forestry; Committee on Health; Committee on Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs; Committee on Works and Housing; Committee on Local Government and Rural Development; Committee on Communications; and Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Others include; Committee on Employment, Social Welfare and State Enterprises; Committee on Defense and Interior; Committee on Trade, Industry and Tourism; Committee on Environment, Science and Technology; Committee on Education; Committee on Youth, Sports and Culture; Committee on Mines and Energy; and Committee on Roads and Transport.

That of the Ad Hoc Committee has the Committee on Poverty Reduction Strategy.

Some Members of Parliament in contributing to the motion for the adoption of the second report of the Committee of Selection on the Composition of Committees of the House by its Chairman, Dr. Benjamin Kunbuor complained bitterly about the non-representation of female MPs in some of the committees.

For instance, the committees of Defense and Interior; Mines and Energy; Housing; and Government Assurances do not have a female representation either from the Minority or Majority side of the House.

This, according to Hon. Eugenia Gifty Kusi was worrying and, therefore, pleaded with the Speaker to direct the amendment of the composition of the affected committees to make them gender sensitive.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Edward Doe Adjaho having listened to Members on the issue directed the leader of the House to factor the concerns raised on board.

Copyright © 2013 Ghanaian Chronicle. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.