14 February 2013

Ghana: Accra Academy Congratulates Speaker

Heads of Accra Academy School yesterday made a courtesy call on the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon. Doe Adjaho for attaining the third most important position of the land.

Rt. Hon. Adjaho, an old student of Accra Academy, was the First Deputy Speaker in the fifth parliament and now the Speaker of the sixth Parliament.

The current Headmaster of Accra Academy Mr. Samuel Ofori Adjei, who led the fourteen member delegation, noted that the position of their old student (as Speaker) was of great joy to the 'BLEOO' family, as they are popularly known.

He, however, added that their visit to congratulate the Speaker marks a "momentum event" for the Accra Academy family.

"We believe his good deeds is what has uplifted him to this high level and it is our duty to pay him a courtesy call for assuming the third highest office in this land, and we hope to see greater things in Ghana under his position as a Speaker", he noted.

Mr. Adjei further thanked the Speaker for his contribution to the 'BLEOO' family during their 8th anniversary which he said had contributed to making the event a memorable one.

In a short remark, Rt. Hon. Doe Adjaho thanked the people and promised to contribute to the growth of Accra Academy and pledged not do anything that would tarnish the good image of the school.

"I feel honored because Accra Academy is a school that has achieved in all areas; politics, medicine, public servant and engineering, I appreciate every single support you have given to me. I need your support and prayers, he said."

Quite significantly, Accra Academy has produced two former Speakers, the late Justice D.F. Annan and late Peter Ala Adjetey.

Earlier on the floor of the House, Parliament approved the report of the Appointment committee of six ministerial nominees of President John Dramani Mahama.

The minority caucuses in Parliament, like other reports of the Appointment Committee that was submitted to the House for debate and subsequent approval did not take part in the process.

The nominees include; Ms. Nanny - Sherry Ayittey minister designate for Health, Mr. Elvis Afriyie - Ankrah minister designate for Youth and Sports, Dr. Henry Seidu Daannaa minister designate for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs.

The rest are, Mr. Kwesi Ahwoi, minister designate for the Interior, Hon. Mark Owen Woyongo, minister designate for Defence and Hon. Eric Opoku, minister designate for Brong-Ahafo Region.

Copyright © 2013 Ghanaian Chronicle. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.