18 February 2013

Uganda: Moses Kipsiro Is Back

Moses Kipsiro and Viola Chemos believe that the time is now for Uganda to have an impact at the international cross country championships, and they will work hard to achieve those dreams.

The duo are likely inclusions on the national team that will represent the country in the IAAF World Cross Country championships on March 24 in Bydgoszcz, Poland, after winning the respective events on Saturday at Jinja.

And though the final team will be named later next month, they have a high chance of making the team.

"I am going to train even harder. I need to have an impact at the international scene," said the runner, whose last international medal came in a double gold medal haul at the 2010 New Delhi Commonwealth Games. He also won bronze in the IAAF Cross country championships in 2009 in Amman, Jordan but finished 9th in Punta Umbria, Spain two years back. At the event Olympic marathon champion, Stephen Kiprotich, went on to finish fifth.

"With hard work, I am sure I will leave an impact," said the runner, who cautiously ran behind of the leading duo of Philip Kiplimo and Fred Arapsudi, before breaking through with about three kilometres to finish well ahead of his challengers. He beat his closest challenger by over 19 seconds. Benjamin Kiplagat, Jacob Araptany were among the runners that failed to make it in the top ten.

Chemos, on the other part had the good final kick do the talking as she emerged from the shadows to win the women's 8km race, beating Juliet Chekwel and Dorcus Inzikuru to second and third place respectively.

"I have sacrificed so much in camp," she said, while Chekwel was happy that she managed to finish the race.

Last year dropped out of the race with two kilometres to go and running shoulder-to-shoulder with eventual winner Annet Negesa, who watched from the stands.

Best top 5 in each

Junior Women 6km

Nancy Cheptegei (UPDF)

Shanice Chemutai ( Elgon)

Stella Chesang (Alpha)

Rachael Chebet (Alpha)

E. Chepkwemboi (Elgon)

Senior women 8km

Viola Chemos (Arua)

Juliet Chekwel (UPDF)

Dorcus Inzikuru (Arua)

Rebecca Cheptegei (UPDF)

Janet Achola (Prisons)

Men's Junior 8km

Michael Cherop (Police)

Moses Kurong (Police)

Alex Cherop (Police)

Abdallah Mande (Police)

Phillip Kipyeko (Standard)

Men's senior 12km

Moses Kipsiro (Elgon)

Phillip Kiplimo (Prisons)

Fred Arapsudi (Police)

Timothy Toroitich (Elgon)

Geoffrey Kusuro (Arua)

Copyright © 2013 New Vision. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.