20 February 2013

Africa: Afcon 2015 - the Qualification Hats Unveiled!

We know a little more about the Afcon 2015. Scheduled to begin in June, the competition will return to its usual format. That is to say qualifications in groups away from the short form for the 2013 edition due to the change of the year.

44 selections are on the starting line. They were divided according to their level in four oven hats of eleven national teams each.

Hat 1: Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Togo, Mali, South Africa, Cape Verde, Congo, Zambia, Tunisia, Ghana.

Hat 2: Egypt, Libya, Algeria, Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Gabon, Uganda, Congo, Central African Republic.

Hat 3: Ethiopia, Benin, Angola, Niger, Zimbabwe, Equatorial Guinea, Mozambique, Malawi, Burundi, Liberia, Sudan.

Hat 4: to be determined after the Effective preliminary round.

The selections will be divided into eleven groups of four. The first in their respective pools will qualify as well as the two best runners-up. The sixteenth and last qualified for the final is Morocco, the host country. The draw of the playoff will take spot on March 10.

Copyright © 2013 Africa Top Sports. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.