21 February 2013

Rwanda Ratifies Banjul Protocol

Senators have today passed a law ratifying the Banjul Protocol on Marks within the Framework of the African Regional Intellectual Property Organisation (ARIPO), making Rwanda the 10th member to do so.

ARIPO was founded in 1976 to facilitate the harmonisation and development of industrial property matters of a number of English-speaking African member states.

Other countries which have ratified Banjul Protocol are: Botswana, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

Copyright © 2013 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.