22 February 2013

Kenya: Nairobi School Hockey League Attracts 14 Teams

Fourteen teams have registered for Nairobi County Secondary Schools Sports Association (NCSSSA) hockey league scheduled to start tomorrow at Lenana School.

NCSSSA hockey committee secretary, Ken Bunyasi, said the teams have been divided into two pools of seven each and the first round will be played on round robin.

Reigning champions, Lenana Boys are seeded top in Pool 'A' and will compete alongside Moi Forces Academy, Ofafa Jericho, Oshwal Boys, Arya Boys, Hillcrest and Brookhouse.

Pool 'B' comprises of Nairobi School, Upper Hill, Jamhuri, Pumwani, Parklands, Starehe and Dagoretti.Bunyasi said unlike in the past when the fixtures were played on home and away basis, all preliminary matches will he staged at Lenana School on this occasion.

Lenana start their title defence against Hillcrest, Moi Forces clash with Arya, Ofafa Jericho entertain Oshwal while Brookhouse take on Lenana in some of the matches in Pool 'A' program.

Moi Forces would then host Hillcrest, Oshwal meet Arya while Ofafa and Brookhouse clash in the last match of the day in Pool 'A'.Seven matches are also lined up in Pool 'B' with Nairobi School and Starehe engaging each other in the first fixture. Other matches will see Upper Hill meet Parklands, Jamhuri tackle Parklands and Pumwani play Upper Hill. The last three matches pit Jamhuri against Pumwani, NairobI School versus Dagoreti and Starehe versus Dagoretti.

Bunyasi indicated that the second round of the competition will be staged at the Nairobi School on March 16 and venues for semi-finals and final would be decided later.

"The top four teams after second round will make it to the semi-finals then final. We believe this will make our league more competitive," Bunyasi said while releasing the fixtures at press conference held at Makongeni Secondary School in Nairobi yesterday.

Successful teams would then advance to Metropolitan Games which will be played in Makueni County on June 5-9. Winners in Metropolitan Games qualify to represent the region in Term One 'A' national games to be held in Eldoret on June 17-23.

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.