22 February 2013

Egypt: Schedule of Egypt's Upcoming Parliamentary Elections

President Mohamed Mursi issued a decree Thursday night to hold parliamentary elections over four stages that begin on 27 April and end on 27 June.

No date has been set yet for accepting candidates.

The first stage will be held on 27 and 28 April 2013 in Cairo, Beheira, Minya, Port Said, and North Sinai. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 4 and 5 May.

The second stage will be held on 15 and 16 May in Giza, Alexandria, Sohag, Bani Swaif, Aswan, Suez, Red Sea, and New Valley. Runoff of this stage will be held on 22 and 23 May.

The third stage will be held on 2 and 3 June in Daqahliya, Qaliubiya, Monofiya, Qena, Damietta, Luxor, Matrouh, and South Sinai. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 9 and 10 June.

The fourth and final stage will be held on 19 and 20 June in Sharqiya, Gharbiya, Assiut, Kafr al-Sheikh, Fayoum, and Ismailia. Runoffs of this stage will be held on 26 and 27 June.

The elected parliament will convene for the first time on Saturday July 6 at 11 a.m.

Copyright © 2013 Aswat Masriya. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.