24 February 2013

Egypt: Parliamentary Elections 2013

Egypt's parliamentary elections, rescheduled to begin on 22 April, according to a statement issued by the presidency's online media outlets late Saturday, 25 February, 2013.

The change in schedule entailed date changes in all four stages of the elections. Below are the new dates:

The first round of voting will be held on 22 and 23 April and will take place in Cairo, Beheira, El-Minya, Port Said and North Sinai. The runoffs will take place on 29 and 30 April.

The second round will be held on 11 and 12 May in Giza, Alexandria, Sohag, Beni Suef, Aswan, Suez, Red Sea and New Valley. The runoffs will take place on 19 and 20 May.

The third round of voting will be held on 28 and 29 May in Daqahliyah, Qaluibiya, Menufiya, Qena, Damietta, Luxor, Matrouh and South Sinai. The runoffs will take place will take place on 5 and 6 June.

The final round is scheduled to take place on 15 and 16 June in Sharqiya, Gharbiya, Assiut, Kafr El-Sheikh, Fayoum and Ismailia. The runoffs will take place on 23 and 24 June.

It is to be noted, in that connection, that the Shura Council has put the final draft of the law on Parliamentary Elections before the Constitutional Court, which ruled in favor of several amendments, which the Council, in turn introduced to the law.

Decree No. 148 Calling on voters to cast their ballots

President Mohamed Morsi issued a presidential decree no. 148 for the year 2013 modifying dates of holding parliamentary elections to guarantee that all eligible voters will cast their ballots.

The presidential decree sets April 22 and 23 for the first round of the vote.

The first round includes the governorates of Cairo, Beheira, Minya, Port Said and North Sinai.

The second round, which includes Giza, Alexandria, Sohag, Beni Suef, Aswan, Suez, Red Sea, New Valley, will take place on May 11 and 12.

The Third round will be held on May 28 and 29. It includes Daqahliya, Qalubiya, Menoufia, Qena, Demietta, Luxor, Matrouh and South Sinai.

The fourth round will be held on June 15 and 16. It covers Sharqiya, Gharbiya, Assiut, Kafr el-Sheikh, Fayyoum and Ismailia.

The decree calls for the convocation of the House of Representative on July 2 at 11 a.m.

. People's Assembly Elections

. Legislative Authority Competencies

. Legislative Authority ...Common provisions

. Parliamentary Elections 2013

. The People's Assembly

. Shura Council

. Background

Copyright © 2013 Egypt State Information Service. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.