26 February 2013

South Africa: Deputy President Meets With the South African National Aids Council Trust Members

press release

Deputy President today 26 February met with the new South African National Aids Council (SANAC) Trust. The new SANAC Trust was born out of a 2012 review of the Governance and Accountability Framework of SANAC and upon expiring term of the old board.

The mandate of the new Trust is to facilitate and manage multi sectoral approach of the implementation of the National Strategic Plan (NSP). The goals of the NSP are to halve the number of new HIV infections, ensuring that at least 80% of people who are eligible for treatment for HIV are receiving it. Halving the number of new TB infections and deaths from TB, ensuring that the rights of people living with HIV are protected, halving the stigma related to HIV and TB.

The meeting convened to induct the members of the trust in their new roles.

The trust consists of members from Civil Society, Business, Academia and Government.

The meeting was convened to induct the members of the trust in their new roles.

The members are as follows:

Chairperson of the Trust: Justice Zak Yacoob, Mr Yusuf Abramjee, Dr Brian Brink, Rev Desmond Lambrechts, Ms Steve Letsike, Ms Prudence Mabele, Dr Thobile Mbengashe, Adv Thoko Majokweni, Dr Ayanda Ntsaluba, Mr Happy Ntshingila, Dr Nothhemba Simelela.

The SANAC Trust has its work cut out as the National Strategic plan is ambitious and sets out a clear framework for the work of SANAC. Immediate deliverables of the new Trust will be improving structures from National to Local Government and intensifying a multi-pronged communication strategy targeting various groups, especially youth, sex workers, miners etc who have been identified by NSP as requiring prevention measures.

"The work that the council will undertake is crucial at a time when South Africa has turned the tide on the response of HIV and yet still has a long way to go in addressing the scourge of HIV and AIDS and I wish them well" said Deputy President Motlanthe.

The Deputy President also thanked the outgoing Trust members for their excellent work.

Copyright © 2013 South African Government. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.