22 March 2013

Kenya: Uhuru, Raila Name Relatives to Bunge

THE party nomination lists to Parliament are now finalised. President-elect Uhuru Kenyatta and Cord presidential candidate Raila Odinga have both used their nomination slots to nominate relatives.

Uhuru paid back his first cousin Beth Mugo with a TNA nomination to the senate after Mugo stepped down in favour of Mike Sonko who was elected Nairobi senator.

Raila on his part rewarded his elder brother Oburu Odinga as a nominated member of the National Assembly. He had stepped aside after the dispute over the shambolic nominations for Siaya governor pitting Oburu against William Oduol where they both claimed to have won the ODM ticket. Eventually the party denied them both the nomination  and gave it to Cornel Rasanga who is now Siaya governor elect.There are 12 parliamentary nominations available.

ODM, with 95 National Assembly members, secured three parliamentary nominations. TNA, with 81, scooped three seats while URP, with 63, got three seats.

The remaining three slots will go to Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka's Wiper, Deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi's United Democratic Forum and Moses Wetangula's Ford-Kenya.

ODM is entitled to four of the 16 seats in the Senate. TNA has four slots, URP with 11 senators has three, while Ford-K, UDF, Wiper, APK and KANU will get one each.

Election losers Martha Karua, Charity Ngilu, Dr Sally Kosgei, Henry Kosgey, Bishop Margaret Wanjiru and Gideon Ndambuki are likely to remain in the political cold for the next five years after not being nominated back to Parliament.

Their names had been submitted for nomination either to the National Assembly or the Senate but their respective parties did not secure enough slots to accommodate them.

Members are nominated by political parties in proportion to the number of seats that a party has won in the election.  Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka could also be headed for the political wilderness if Cord loses its petition at the Supreme Court against the declaration of Uhuru Kenyatta as president elect.

The Wiper slots in Parliament have been taken by Bishop Robert Mutua for the National Assembly and Law Society Council Member Judith Sijeny for Senate. There was a rumour before the election that Vice President Kalonzo Musyoka was on the Wiper nominees list but this now appears to have to been disproved.

For Karua, her Narc Kenya party did not qualify for any nomination slot in both National Assembly and Senate after a disappointing performance in the election. The party had submitted Karua's name as its priority for nomination.

Charity Ngilu's Narc party performed dismally and did not qualify for any nomination slot. The party had listed Ngilu's name for nomination as a senator after she lost the Kitui county senatorial race to assistant minister David Musila of Wiper Democratic Movement.

Sally Kosgei and Industrialization minister Henry Kosgey were both on the ODM list but too far down to be nominated into Senate. The Agriculture minister lost her Aldai parliamentary seat to URP's Cornelly Serem while Henry lost the Nandi senate race to lawyer Stephen Sang.

Veteran politician Zipporah Kittony made a dramatic comeback after being nominated by Kanu to the senate. The former Maendeleo Ya Wanawake Chairperson Zipporah Kittony has said she will champion peace and women issues in the Senate.

ODM has nominated Isaac Mwaura, an adviser to the PM on disabilities, and Zulekha Hassan Juma into the National Assembly along with Oburu. Nominated to the Senate by ODM are assistant minister Elizabeth Ongoro, party executive director Janet Ongera, Halima Abdille and Agnes Nzani.

Ongoro was denied the ODM nomination certificate for Nairobi senate in favour of Bishop Margaret Wanjiru who lost to TNA's Mike Mbuvi Sonko. Wiper is likely to nominate Gideon Ndambuki, former agriculture assistant minister, as a senator.He was defeated by Education minister Mutula Kilonzo for the Wiper nomination for the Makueni county senate seat.

In the National Assembly, TNA has nominated Amina Abdalla, party chairman Johnson Sakaja and Janet Teiyaa. Abdalla has been nominated for a record three times now. Kanu nominated her in 2003 and 2008.

Ruto's party URP has nominated Korere Sara Paulata, Abdi Mohammed Ali and Sunjeev Kour Birdi to the National Assembly. Ford Kenya nominated Patrick Wangamati, a member of the Luhya council of elders, while UDF nominated Hassan Aden Osman.

TNA has nominated minister Beth Mugo to the Senate, even though the former Dagoretti MP announced her retirement from politics last year.The other TNA nominees to the Senate are Emma Mburu, KBC reporter Naisula Lesuuda, and Joy Odhiambo.

Former Rangwe MP Shem Ochuodho who was Paul Muite's presidential running mate was on the Safina nomination list but will not go to Parliament.

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.