18 April 2013

Kenya: Uhuru Slashes Ministries From 44 to 18

Nairobi — President Uhuru Kenyatta has unveiled the structure of his new government, collapsing the ministries from 44 to 18.

President Uhuru says that the composition ensures a lean, efficient and effective Executive branch of government that will serve Kenyans better and work towards the realisation of Vision 2030.

The Head of State has given a special focus to the youth, gender, devolution, planning as well as national cohesion and integration which have all been brought under the presidency.

Mining, which was previously an entity placed under the Ministry of Environment, is now a stand-alone ministry owing to the newly found natural resources including coal in Kitui, oil deposits in the upper north and titanium in Kwale.

Information, Communication and Technology ministry as well as Sports, Culture and Arts are also stand-alone ministries with a view to leveraging on the creative potential of the youth.

Infrastructure ministries as well as national resources ministries have also largely been brought under the same roof.

More to follow...

Copyright © 2013 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.