3 May 2013

Kenya: Focus On Voi

The urge by some top drivers to regain lost ground will be the focus when the third round of the Kenya National Rally Championship--the KCB Voi Rally--takes off next week.

But double champion Alastair Cavenagh who also skipped the season-opening Kajiado Rally and retired in Nyeri will be the notable absentee at the May 11 event.

Focus will be on who gains advantage over current KNRC leader Baldev Chager who won in Kajiado and finished second in Nyeri. Chager is leading the National series with 140 points ahead of three times champion Azar Anwar and defending champion Carl Tundo on 90 and 80 points respectively.

Chager has indicated that he will not let go off his lead just like that. "Let's see if anyone knocks me off the lead this season," said Chager.

He said he expects the strongest challenge to come from former team-mate Tundo and Duncan now that Alastair is out.

Alastair will be away competing in a grueling Iron Man competition the same weekend in Mallorca, Sapin to raise money for Cystic Fibrosis. "It is a shame that I will miss yet another round of the Championship," said Alastair who missed the first round due to a rib injury.

Ian Duncan, who is placed fourth in the championship with 60 points didn't scored points in Nyeri after crushing his EVO9 car against an oncoming ambulance.

Meanwhile, the Kenya Motors Sports Federation Rallies Commission of KMSF has notified all competitors on the re-inclusion of Tracking System in the 2013 Kenya National Rally Championship. The Rallies Commission said all rally drivers are required to install a tracking device in their cars before KCB Voi Rally in a bid to enhance safety.

The event--organised by East African Safari Rally--will count towards KNRC Round 3, Kenya National Group S/SPV Championship (Round 3), Kenya National 2WD and the 2013 Classic Car Cup.

Road books will be issued on Wednesday next week at KMSF Offices in Nairobi and reconnaissance will take place on May 10 from 7am to 6pm with only two passengers per crew allowed. Rallies Commission, chairman Ashok Bhalla said no late entries will be accepted.

Scrutineering and documentation will be held on May 10 from 12pm to 4pm at Voi Wildlife Lodge. The rally will start at

8am at KCB Voi Branch and ceremonial finish will be held at Voi Wildlife Lodge from 5pm



1. Baldev Chager (EVOX) 140

2. Azar Anwar (EVO8) 90

3. Carl Tundo (EVO9) 80

4. Ian Duncan (EVO9) 60

5. Quentin Mitchell (Subaru N16) 50


1. Jaspreet Chatthe (EVO9) 80

2. Frank Tundo (EVO9) 60

3. Onkar Rai (Subaru N12) 50

4. Izhar Mirza (EVO9) 40


1. Mahesh Halai (Subaru) 105

2. John Nganga (Subaru N10) 95

3. Tejvir Rai (Subaru N16) 90

4. Alstair Keith (Subaru) 76

5. Jasmeet Chana (EVO9) 70


1. Adnan Suhail (Daihastu Special) 160

2. Dennis Mwenda (Toyota Sprinter GT) 120

3. Sammy Nyorri (Toyota Vitz) 80

4. Dalbir Thetthy (Toyota Conquest) 80

5. Caroline Gatimu (Toyota Levin) 60

6. Gurmit Thetthy (VW Golf GTI) 50

7. Joan Nesbitt (Toyota Tercel) 35

8. Victor Okundi (Toyota Vitz) 30

Sent from my BlackBerry®

Copyright © 2013 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.