6 May 2013

Africa: H. E. Mary Robinson and H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Discuss "Framework of Hope" for the DR Congo

H. E. Mary Robinson and H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma discuss "Framework of Hope" for the DR Congo

Pretoria, 5 May, 2013: Recently appointed United Nations Special Envoy for the Great Lakes Region of Africa, H.E. Mary Robinson has met with the African Union Commission Chairperson, H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma to discuss collaboration and cooperation around her new role. Meeting on Saturday, 4th May 2013, at the Waterkloof Diplomatic Guesthouse in Pretoria, South Africa, Mary Robinson and her delegation, briefed the AUC Chairperson on the series of consultations being undertaken since her appointment.

H. E. Mary Robinson has held consultative meetings with Heads of State of the Region, the AU Commission Chairperson's Special Representative to the Great Lakes Region, and civil society organisations, particularly Women's groups, who bear the brunt of the protracted conflict in DR Congo and the rest of the region. The UN Special Envoy sought from the AUC Chairperson an opportunity of seizing the OAU/AU 50th anniversary celebrations to provide a platform for further discussions on the framework.

Fixing a meeting in the morning of 26th May 2013, before the AU Heads of State summit, H.E. Dr. Dlamini Zuma stressed the need to focus on addressing the root causes of the conflict in the Great Lakes, to prevent its recurrence once and for all. She strongly recommended an inclusive, integrated and multidisciplinary approach to overcoming the peace, security and development challenges. The countries involved, she noted, need to be interdependent, and also see themselves as such.

Both Dr. Dlamini-Zuma and Mary Robinson agreed to the need for a more collaborative, coordinated and guarded approach by various stakeholders to confront the challenges and meeting the needs of the DRC.

The Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Great Lakes Region, was adopted on 24th February 2013, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, by 11 African countries (Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, South Sudan, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia). The agreement is an instrument to address the root causes of the instability in the Great Lakes region, and particularly in the Democratic Republic of Congo.


Copyright © 2013 African Union. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.