7 May 2013

Liberia: More Substitution in Government

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made several new nominations in government, including Mr. Morris Dukuly, Minister of Internal Affairs, pending confirmation by the Liberian Senate. Mr. Dukuly, who previously served as Minister of State for Presidential Affairs in Madam Sirleaf's first term, replaces Hon. Blamo Nelson.

According to the Executive Mansion, also nominated by the President include Cllr. Juah Lawson, Ministry of Labor; Cllr. Elizabeth B. Nelson, Court Administrator, Supreme Court of Liberia; James N. Verdier, Jr. Chairman, Independent Human Rights Commission and Cllr. Jeannette Ebba-Davidson and Ms. Davidetta Brown Lasanah, Commissioners, National Elections Commission. Other nominees are Dr. Wilfred Sei Boayue, Commissioner, National AIDS Commission; Dr. Charles Collins, Mrs. Esther W. Paegar and Mr. Timothy E. Thomas, Commissioners, Public Procurement and Concessions Commission.

The President further nominated former Commerce Minister, Ms. Miata Beysolow, as Chairman of the Board of Directors, National Social Security & Welfare Corporation; Mr. Francis Carbah, Chairman of the Board of Directors National Housing Authority, Mr. Francis Chuchu Horton, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Liberia Telecommunications Corporation, and Mr. David Fromayan Beyan, Member of the Board of Directors, Liberia Electricity Corporation.

In more appointments in the cabinet, President Sirleaf has nominated Ms. Victoria K. Sawyer, Assistant Minister, Planning, Policy and Operations, Ministry of National Defense; Col. Daniel K. Moore, Deputy Chief of Staff, Armed Forces of Liberia; Mr. Moses Blonkanjay Jackson, Assistant Minister, Teachers' Education, Ministry of Education; Mr. T. Wilson Gaye, Assistant Minister, Student Personnel Services, Ministry of Education; Mr. Jackson J. Paye, Assistant Minister, Feeder Roads, Ministry of Public Works and Mr. Samuel J. Summerville, Assistant Minister, Planning & Human Resource Dev., Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy, respectively.

At the National Bureau of Veteran Affairs, the President appointed the following persons: Rtd. Col. Aaron T. Johnson, Deputy Director for Administration; Rtd. Col. James T. Sammy, Director for Vetran Affairs; Rtd. Maj. Fred I. Sumo, Asst. Director for Administration; Rtd. Maj. Ophelia Hinneh, Asst. Director for Women and Children and Rtd. Maj. Brown Pajibo, County/Regional Coordinator, respectively.

Copyright © 2013 The New Dawn. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.